First Call for Papers

SDEIV 2023

June 25-30, 2023 Naha, Okinawa, Japan

About ISDEIV

The International Symposium on Discharge and Electrical Insulation in Vacuum (ISDEIV) is a non-profit, international organization whose purpose is to encourage the advancement of the science and application of electrical insulation and discharges in vacuum, primarily by conducting symposia for the exchange of scientific information.



The Symposia are usually held biennially. The symposia are interdisciplinary meetings for the exchange of results, presentation of progress, and discussion of ideas and challenges for the future in the field of electrical discharges and insulation in vacuum. Both fundamental and applied aspects are covered. Symposia programs consist of invited talks, invited oral contributions, and posters. Minicourses and informal discussions on relevant topics may also be offered in addition to the regular Symposium schedule.

Main Topics

A: BREAKDOWN AND FLASHOVER

- A1. Vacuum breakdown and pre-breakdown phenomena
- A2. Surface discharges and flashover phenomena

B: VACUUM ARCS

- B1. Switching in vacuum and related phenomena
- B2. Interaction of vacuum arcs with magnetic fields
- B3. Vacuum arc physics
- B4. Computer modeling and computer aided design
- B5. Pulsed power physics and technology

C: APPLICATIONS

- C1. Vacuum interrupters and their applications
- C2. Surface science and modification and related technologies
- C3. Electron, ion, neutron, X-ray and other beam and light sources
- C4. Accelerator and fusion reactor related issues
- C5. Space related technologies
- C6. Vacuum microelectronics and their applications

D: OTHERS

City Information



The only prefecture in Japan within a subtropical region is Okinawa, which has been fostering its own culture as an independent kingdom. Domestic flights to Okinawa are frequently operated from Japanese hub-airports including Haneda, Kansai and Chubu. The domestic flight time is 2-3 hours. Many international flights are also available from Asian countries such as South Korea, China, Singapore, Hong Kong and Taiwan. Explore the ruins, vast sea blue and rain-forest green nurtured in the long history of Okinawa. The sight of the magnificence gives you a feeling of the eternal flow of time.

Venue

Okinawa Jichikaikan: 15 mins by monorail from Naha Airport

Address: 116-37, Asahimachi, Naha, Okinawa 900-0029, Japan Tel: +81-98-862-8181



Important dates

- Deadline for abstract submission
- Notification of abstract acceptance
- Deadline for full paper submission
- Notification of full paper acceptance
- Conference

- : September 15, 2022
- : December 15, 2022
- : March 15, 2023
- : April 24, 2023
- : June 25 30, 2023

Contact us

E-mail	: <u>isdeiv2023@epower.ees.saitama-u.ac.jp</u>
Website	: http://isdeiv2023.w3.kanazawa-u.ac.jp

Permanent International Scientific Committee - PISC

Shenli JIA	P.R. China, (Chair)	Eiji KANEKO	Japan
Alexander BATRAKOV	Russia, (Vice Chair)	Sandeep KULKARNI	India
Michael KURRAT	Germany, (Secretary)	Akiko KUMADA	Japan
Matthew M. HOPKINS	USA, (Treasurer)	H. Craig MILLER	USA
René P.P. SMEETS	Netherlands (Awards Comm. Chair)	Ekkehard SCHADE	Switzerland
Raymond L. BOXMAN	Israel	Sergej SHKOL'NIK	Russia
Edgar DULLNI	Germany	Dirk UHRLANDT	Germany
Leslie T. FALKINGHAM	United Kingdom	Satoru YANABU	Japan (P.R. China)
André ANDERS	USA	Jiyan ZOU	P.R. China

Local Organizing Committee - LOC

- E. Kaneko, Chair (University of the Ryukyus) A. Kumada, Vice Chair (The University of Tokyo) Y. Yamano, Secretary (Saitama University) H. Kojima, Editor of Proceedings (Nagoya University) S. Harada (University of the Ryukyus) S. Yanabu (Xi'an Jaotong University) S. Kobayashi (Saitama University) S. Kajita (Nagoya University) T. Iwao (Tokyo City University) Y. Inada (Saitama University) K. Toyoda (Kyusyu Institute of Technology) H. Akatsuka (Tokyo Institute of Techonology)
- M. Sasaki (University of Tsukuba)
- T. Fujino (University of Tsukuba)

Y. Nakano (Kanazawa University) H. Iwabuchi (Shonan Institute of Technology) Y. Niwa (Toshiba Corporation) N. Asari (Toshiba Corporation) H. Urai (Daido University) H. Morita (Hitachi, Ltd.) H.Torii (Fuji Electric CO., LTD.) T. Donen (Mitsubishi Electric Corporation) H. Fukuda (MEIDENSHA CORPORATION) T. Abe (KEK) K. Nitta (JAXA) A. Kojima (QST)

Y. Tanaka (Kanazawa University)

K. Murakami (AIST)